European Association for Biometrics announces award winners

September 13, 2012 - 

The European Association for Biometrics recently announced the winners of its annual research and industry award.

Christian Rathgeb won the sixth annual award for a paper that addressed the security and accuracy of iris recognition systems. He received a prize of US$2,500 courtesy of GenKey Europe. Rathgeb is based at the Universtiy of Salzburg in Austria.

Anindyo Roy from the Idiap Research Institute in Switzerland won the Association’s industry award. Safran Morpho awarded Roy with US$2,500.

The awards recognize the efforts of young researchers who have significantly contributed to the field of biometrics. A panel of 11 jurors chose the winners.

What are the expected breakthroughs in the field of biometrics for next year?

Leave a Comment


About Mona Green

Mona Green writes full time for She is also a licensed Medical Laboratory Scientist and is currently involved in several civic society organizations. Mona is completing her Master's Degree in Public Administration."