National Cybersecurity Center of Excellence ribbon cutting and panel discussions

February 7, 2016 - 

On Monday February 8, from 11:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., the National Cybersecurity Center of Excellence (NCCoE) will celebrate its move to expanded new facilities with a ribbon cutting dedication and expert panel discussions featuring senior elected and government officials and the CEOs and presidents of several large companies.

The event will be webcast.

The 5,574 square-meter (60,000 square-foot) facility in Rockville, Maryland has 22 labs, including two large enough to hold vehicles for cybersecurity testing.

NCCoE staff and partners will be on hand to demonstrate the center’s current projects that address challenges such as access control, mobile device security, online identity authentication, data integrity, situational awareness and IT asset management.

The ribbon cutting dedication ceremony speakers include: U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker; U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski (MD); U.S. Senator Ben Cardin (MD); U.S. Congressman John Delaney (MD, 6th district); Maryland Lt. Governor Boyd Rutherford; County Executive for Montgomery County, Md., Isiah (Ike) Leggett; Under Secretary of Commerce for Standards and Technology and NIST Director Willie E. May.

The expert panel discussion moderators are: Michael Daniel, Special Assistant to the President and Cybersecurity Coordinator and Dean Garfield, President and CEO, Information Technology Industry Council. Panelists include Michael Brown, CEO, Symantec; Donna Dodson, Chief Cybersecurity Advisor and NCCoE Director, NIST; Lisa Gallagher, Vice President, Health Information and Management Systems; David Hoffman, Associate General Counsel and Global Privacy Officer, Intel; Gil Quinones, CEO, New York Power Authority and Amit Yoran, RSA President.

Leave a Comment


About Stephen Mayhew

Stephen Mayhew is the publisher and co-founder of Biometrics Research Group, Inc.. Connect with Stephen on LinkindIn.