FB pixel

ID4Africa appoints Ambassadors from 29 countries for 2018

ID4Africa appoints Ambassadors from 29 countries for 2018

ID4Africa has announced the appointment of Ambassadors from 29 countries for 2018.

The 2018 Ambassadors represent an increase of seven over 2017, and their countries make up more than 75 percent of sub-Saharan Africa by population, according to the announcement. The Ambassadors are senior-level government officials with well-defined missions to promote and manage legal identity in their countries.

ID4Africa is billed as a grass-roots, multi-stakeholder movement in support of the effective and responsible adoption of digital identity systems throughout Africa to empower citizens and facilitate governance, democracy, and the provision of services.

ID4Africa Executive Chairman, Dr. Joseph J. Atick said: “The Ambassadors Program is a platform for empowering African Civil servants to influence and advance the identity agenda in Africa. The Ambassadors play an integral role in influencing the direction of the ID4Africa Movement, keeping us informed at a granular level on issues that are pertinent to our constituent countries. They ensure that their countries’ issues and concerns are part of the collective agenda of the Movement and that their countries are well represented in their delegations to the ID4Africa Annual Meeting.” He added, “Over the years, the level of seniority of the Ambassadors has risen, which is a testament to the importance the member countries are attaching to their participation in the Movement.”

Ambassadors serve one-year terms, renewable for up to four years. There are 14 returning Ambassadors from 2017. Countries with Ambassadors appointed for the first time include Benin, Central African Republic, Guinée, and Tanzania.

The 2018 ID4Africa Ambassadors are:

Josef Konti, Director General of Civil Registration, Ministry of Interior and public security for Benin

Allassani Ouedraogo, Director of the Cabinet of the Ministry of Economic Development for Burkina Faso

Jean Paul Ntsengue, Director of the Cabinet, Elections Cameroon (ELECAM) for Cameroon

Andrien Nestor Zouaka, Expert in Charge of the Administration, Ministry of Interior and public security for the Central African Republic

Elisabeth Gore, Vice Director Independent Election Commission (CEI) for Côte d’Ivoire

Moussa M. Mbutho, ICT Counselor, Prime Minister’s Office for the Democratic Republic of Congo

Moustapha Mohamed Ismail, Director General, National Agency of Government Information Systems for Djibouti

Daniel Lishanew, ICT Director, Vital Events Registration Agency for Ethiopia

Emmanuel Brown, Senior Officer, Card Production, National Identification Authority for Ghana

Mory Camara, Director General, National Agency for eGovernment and IT (ANGEIE) for Guinée

Reuben M. Kimotho, Director of National Registration, National Registration Bureau for Kenya

Tumelo Raboletsi, Director for the National Identity and Civil Registry Department, Ministry of Home Affairs for Lesotho

Zeze R. Reed, Deputy Executive Director of Technical Services, National Identification Registry for Liberia

Haingotiana Rasitefanoelina, Civil Administrator, Permanent Secretary of the CNC-CRVS, Ministry of the Interior and Decentralization for Madagascar

Sophie Kang’oma, Director, National Registration Bureau for Malawi

Abdoul SY, Director of Human Resources, Ministry of Defence and Veterans (MDAC) for Mali

Mohamd Ntilitt, Director of Informatics, Independent National Electoral Commission for Mauritania

Oscar Muhapi, Control Administrative Officer: ID Production, Ministry of Home Affairs for Namibia

Tinni Hamadou, Director of Census, Stastistics, & Materials, Ministry of Interior for Niger

Godswill Ukauwa, Chief Superindendent of Immigration, the Nigerian Immigration Service for Nigeria

Jacques Kayisire, Director of ICT Infrastructure, National Identification Agency for Rwanda

Alberto Pereira, President, Electoral Commission for São Tomé e Príncipe

Mouhamed Mahi SY, Coordinator of Computer Services Unit, Universal Healthcare Coverage Agency for Senegal

Elijah Koroma, Chief Technology Officer, National Registration Secretariat for Sierra Leone

Thomas Sigama, Chief Director, Department of Home Affairs for South Africa

David Jobojobo, Deputy Director ICT, Ministry of Interior for South Sudan

Andile Dlamini, Regional Civil Registrar, Civil Registration and Vital Statistics Department, Ministry of Home Affairs for Swaziland

Alphonce Malibiche, Acting Director, Identification Management, National Identification Authority for Tanzania

Josias Taradoum, Manager of Civil Registration, Good Governance Program for Tchad

Biometric Update is the “Official Journalist” for ID4Africa 2018, which will take place from April 24 to 26, in Abuja, Nigeria.

As previously reported, ID4Africa joined the Secure Identity Alliance as an Advisory Observer in November.

Article Topics

 |   |   |   | 

Latest Biometrics News


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Featured Company