FB pixel

EAB awards young researchers for outstanding work in the area of biometrics

Categories Biometric R&D  |  Biometrics News

The European Association for Biometrics (EAB) recently acknowledged three young researchers for outstanding works in the area of biometrics.

Award applicants were asked to submit a research paper and supporting information from which an international jury selected the candidates to present their significant contribution in front of the jury, the EAB members and the public audience.

These awards are granted annually to individuals who have been judged by a panel of internationally respected experts to be making a significant contribution to the field of biometrics research and innovations in Europe. The goal of the awards program is to stimulate innovation in academic research as well as in industry.

The European Biometrics Research Award 2017 has been given to Nanang Susyanto from University of Twente, the Netherlands for his thesis titled “A Non-standard Method on Biometric Score Level Fusion via Parametric Copula”. This research presents new method for combining dependent scores from two or more biometric recognition systems, which is based on copula models. This copula is used to handle dependence between scores. For a given objective performance measure in a realistic scenario, a resampling method for choosing the best copula pair is proposed. The candidate showed that the method outperforms the existing likelihood-ratio-based score level fusions on some public biometric databases from fingerprint, face, speaker, and video-based gait recognitions under some common objective performance measures: maximizing acceptance rate at fixed false acceptance rate and minimizing discrimination loss.

The European Biometrics Industry Award was awarded to Zhenhua Feng from University of Surrey, United Kingdom for the thesis titled “Dynamic Attention-controlled Cascaded Shape Regression for Robust Facial Landmark Detection in the Wild”. He presented a new approach for robust facial landmark detection on unconstrained faces. The key innovation of the approach is the fault-tolerant mechanism, using fuzzy set sample weighting, for attention-controlled domain-specific model training. Experimental results obtained on challenging datasets demonstrate the merits over the state-of-the-art methods.

Special honours were given by the jury to finalist Moises Diaz from Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain for his contribution titled “Single Reference Signature System”.

The European Research and Industry Award winners are each honoured with a €2.000 stipendium. The finalists are also given a one year membership to EAB. These European Biometric Research and Industry Awards were sponsored by OT-Morpho and Fingerprint Cards (FPC).

EAB members can find the thesis of award winners on the website.

The call for submissions for the 2018 EAB Research and Industry Award is now available.

Article Topics

 |   |   | 

Latest Biometrics News


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Read This Week

Featured Company

Biometrics Research

Biometrics White Papers

Biometrics Events

Explaining Biometrics